Auto News

Winners of Short Film Contest Based on Mahindra XUV500 Announced

By Motortrend India Staff   |   05 March,2013

SUV giant of India, Mahindra announced the winners of its short film contest which is based on the premium car XUV500. The Film Festival was organized in association with 48 Hours Film Project, India, which has been conducting short film festivals in India since 2009. There were 200 entries from around India to this contest out of which 23 entries were shortlisted.

Each of the shortlisted entry was given an XUV500 for 5 days and was asked to create a fictional short film within 10 days. These entries were then judged by the jury members- Mr. Shimit Amin (Director of ‘Chak De’), Mr. Robby Mathew (Creative Director, Interface Communication), Mr. Carlton D’silva (Creative Head, Hungama Digital) and Mr. Vivek Nayer, Chief Marketing Officer, Automotive division, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. Winners were selected on their clutter breaking ability in concept and execution (50% weightage), integration of XUV500 in the film (30% weightage) and technical expertise of film making (20% weightage). The winner was awarded an XUV500 as the grand prize while the runners up received a Canon camera (EOS 550D) and APPLE iPad3.

Mr. Vivek Nayer, Chief Marketing Officer, Automotive Division, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. spoke about the occasion and said, “People are constantly seeking new and interesting experiences in their lives that lead to exciting new discoveries. New experiences are the new wealth in today’s world. The XUV500 brand has successfully created fascinating stories in the lives of our customers. Hence, we decided to create this short film contest to bring alive XUV500’s brand theme of ‘May your life be full of stories’. It has been a great experience for me personally to go through all these films as a jury member. Each and every film had its own unique story-telling style. I would like to thank and compliment not just the winners but all participants who contributed to make these fantastic short films with the XUV500.”

Anshul Joshi was awarded the Winner and Best Story, under the category Best Film for the movie Deal. Anupam Mishra was awarded the 1st runner up & Best cinematography, under the category Best Film for the movie Elina. Taranjeet Singh was awarded the 2nd Runner up under the category Best Film for the movie Memorable Journey. Tharun Bhascker Dhaassyam received the Audience Choice Award & Best music for the movie Junun. Abhijit Kokate was awarded in the Best Direction category for the movie Vanishing Hitch-hiker. Shaurya Singh was awarded in the Best actor category for the movie Shaadi Ka Driver. Ankit Mehrotra was awarded in Best Editing category for the movie The Legend of Shyamlal Darzee.

Related Content