Auto News

Team Mahindra———s 4th Indian National Rally Win

By   |   19 November,2013

Team Mahindra Adventure have won the 2013 Indian National Rally Championship, making this the 4th consecutive time they have lifted this trophy. The team used the Mahindra XUV500 with which they won the SUV category round and also, finished at the top of the leaderboard overall.

The team’s drivers were Gaurav Gill, the current Asia Pacific Rally Champion, and Musa Sherif, co-driver. Gill hauled the XUV500 over the line over 3 minutes ahead of Karamjit Singh in a Volkswagen Polo. This marked the very first time in the history of motorsports in India that a diesel powered SUV defeated all the petrol powered rivalry at that racing level.

Mr. Vivek Nayer, Chief Marketing Officer of the Automotive Division at Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. commented on the occasion by saying, “This unprecedented victory by the Super XUV500 is a testimony to the tough & rugged 'Mahindra DNA'. We were tested against other petrol vehicles but emerged undefeated for the fourth time in a row! We are proud to have been adjudged fastest among all categories and rounds of INRC, as well as having won the INSUVRC class at the K-1000 Rally held in Bangalore”.

Mahindra Adventure works by conducting a series of motorsports and adventure events to showcase the off-roading prowess of Mahindra vehicles. For interested people, Mahindra Adventure has recently launched the Mahindra Adventure Off-Road Training Academy at Igatpuri.

Related Content