Auto News

Arjun Rao Arur Wins Coffee Day Rally

By   |   24 December,2013

The Indian National Rally Championship 2013 season finale held at the coffee estates of Chikmagalur in Karnataka saw Volkswagen Polo rally cars dominate throughout with Arjun Rao Arur winning the Coffee Day Rally overall and the 1600 category. Joining him on the podium were Sirish Chandran and Hrishikesh Thackersey, also driving Polo rally cars. Rohan Pawar won the Junior Indian National Rally Championship (JINRC) category, interestingly while driving yet another Volkswagen Polo.

The Volkswagen Polo rally cars managed to clinch six trophies in the tough stages of the rally with Arjun taking double honours for winning in the 1600 category as well topping overall amongst all classes. Sirish Chandran took double honours for finishing second in 1600 and third overall. And with this victory, Arjun also won the 2013 INRC 1600 title.

Commenting on the occasion, Prithviraj Siddappa, the Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India said, “Volkswagen cars cruised to victories with Arjun Rao showing top notch performance and clinching a win overall while Rohan won the JINRC. Sirish made a mark by finishing second in 1600 and third overall. We are extremely delighted with our Customer Sport competitors’ performance and we hope to go even bigger the next season.”

Related Content