Auto News

Stuart Oliver wins the debut T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 2014

By   |   23 March,2014

India’s first truck racing championship the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship, finished with Stuart Oliver winning the debut championship. It was a great spectacle to see the massive beasts that these Tata Prima trucks are to battle out in a 45 minutes final race.

The debut season of the Championship happened at the India’s F1 track, Buddh International Circuit. The winning Team Castrol Vecton was followed by Team Cummins and Team Tata Technologies Motor Sports in the final Team points standings.

The T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship comprised two races, a 5-lap Sprint Race and a 15-lap Main Race, with the Champion Award granted to the winning driver on the basis on combined points from both the races. The Team Championship was awarded on the basis of the combined scores of the two drivers of the respective teams from both the races.

T1 Racing LogoThe series used 12 heavily-modified Tata Prima trucks having 370 horsepower and reaching a top speed of 110 km per hour. The trucks are modified based on the BTRA guidelines and has been certified by FMSCI after having undergone stringent security check-ups. To make these Prima trucks fit for racing, guidelines from British Truck Racing Association were followed and subsequently 22 key modifications were made to meet a mix of safety and performance needs for the Truck Racing environment. Some of the changes made are on - fuel tank, brake cooling system, propeller shaft guards, racing seats and safety belts, exhaust, steering wheel etc.

Stuart Oliver, T1 Prima Truck Racing Champion 2014 said “It was an amazing experience. The track is beautiful and trucks were performing great. I am thrilled to have won the first ever Truck racing championship in India, among the enthusiastic crowd who were cheering each time we drove past the grand stand. I see a lot of potential of this sport here and would love to come back and race again.” Commenting on the successful weekend, Mr. Ravi Pisharody, Executive Director - Commercial Business Unit, Tata Motors said, “We have had a tremendous day here for the truck racing with a really pumped-up atmosphere and we have been delighted by the response received for the launch of our debut truck racing event.

Tata Prima trucks proved their racing prowess and build quality in this high intensity race. We are extremely delighted with the performance of T1 teams and drivers who have been supportive throughout the event. We would like to congratulate the winning team, sponsors and all participants for making this first of its kind, debut racing event, a historic day.”

Besides the winning drivers, there were top British truck racing drivers, including Bran John Burt, Dave Jenkins, Paul McCumisky, James Horne, Simon Ashley Reid, Richard Collett, Steven Powell, Steven Thomas and Graham Powell, showcased their driving skills during the event. 

Related Content